Home Forums General Discussion Workshop on Moisture

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    Sarah Grant
    Participant

Hello all,

I’m a rookie HPA (just completed part 2 of the training), and have been asked the following question from a Trustee of the Board I work for.

Dear Sarah,

Our guest room is a later addition onto the house.
    For two reasons it is the most cold room and with black fungi
    developing at the back of the curtains.

I get someone in next week to look at better thermal curtain options.
    I also wondered whether double glazing would be affordable, good solution.
    I sadly assume Nz is not ready yet to subsidise on large scale single
    for dpuble glazing in all existing houses. Is this right?

Do you have a few pointers in right direction re whom to contact, a website.
    Particularly as it will affect price I wanna pay for curtains if we
    also double glaze that room only.

Thanks!

My reponse was:
    There are a few things to consider before you start going ahead with remedies – they are:
    *how is the room used? you mention it’s a guest room so I would assume it’s used intermittently with the door closed to the rest of the house when not in use?
    *where is the moisture coming from? moisture will condense on the glass in the coldest room it can get to by preference, but there may be a source of moisture in the house that’s causing the damp air to begin with. Do you have a good extractor fan in your bathroom which is vented to the outside, and is it used when showering and ? Do you have a range hood in your kitchen and is it always used when cooking?
    *is there insulation in that part of the roof? what about underfloor and the walls?